Today’s Sports Update: The 300th! (Also the 10-Year Anniversary)

Hard to believe I've been doing this for ten years.
Hard to believe I’ve been doing this for ten years.

November 30, 2014

Welcome everyone to the 300th edition of Today’s Sports Update! It’s a very special one, as this is not only the 300th post but also celebrating ten years of the update.

I started thinking what’s worth covering in this post. Should I talk NBA, NFL, or MLB? Should I write about the UFC again or perhaps the NHL? Maybe I could cover golf, even.

I realized the update wasn’t bigger than that, but I knew it would be a disservice to write about anything other than the blog. Therefore, this blog entry is dedicated to the Update’s inception and many inspirations.

Not many know this, but I started blogging for fun. It started in October of 2004, where I used email bulletins for my family and friends. I didn’t take it seriously until I figured out I was spending more time on the blog. It wasn’t until a post I did on the 2006 NBA Finals that I received critical feedback.

My parents said I should pursue sports writing. My relatives said the same. Even my friends did the same as well, and after much consideration, I took their advice.

It was 2007 where I started publishing on WordPress. I was enamored with it, knowing I’d write for a broader audience. I understood my writing needed to get better, which is why I went to Arizona State’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism in 2010. The courses and faculty helped me hone my skills as a writer and as a person. I received top-notch education at the finest level, and I graduated with my Bachelor’s in Journalism & Mass Communications two years ago.

The Cronkite School made me invent rules for blogging, and I still follow them to this day.

1) Find a subject that no one else is talking about. It’s very difficult, but sometimes you get lucky. A recent example would be my piece called Phil Jackson vs. Michael Jordan: The Match-Up No One Expected. I don’t recall anyone covering this battle of former partners turned opposing executives. I wrote the piece and much to my surprise, it’s a quiet success.

2) Don’t spread yourself out. Many of the earlier updates featured three to four sports a post. That’s too many especially in this sports media era. Some of my best ones featured only one sport covered. I focused more on that and became a stronger writer because of that.

3) It’s okay to have a chip on your shoulder. This doesn’t mean writing your emotions flat out and saying, “This is awful! He/She should be banned!” Maybe that’s the case, but there are more effective ways to bring your emotions out. Take a look at my piece on LeBron James before he signed with Cleveland. I remember writing more determined and almost shaming LeBron into re-signing with the Cavs. Granted, he didn’t read my article. But I was satisfied getting my thoughts out in an efficient manner.

4) Take risks. It’s fine to stray away from the pack. In fact, it’s recommended. Think of yourself as the audience. Do you really want to read the same generic piece of an issue? Or perhaps you’d like a different perspective? For example, I took two approaches to Derek Jeter’s retirement. The first was an indirect tale, covering Paul Konerko more (who also retired). The second was on Jeter and used a more personal approach.

Over time, I acquired my own favorites for the Update. There are too many to mention, especially from this year. But here are a few I’d recommend in chronological order:

2004: Sports Special: Bernie

2005: Friday November 4, 2005

2007: Shooting From The Mouth

2008: Sports Special: Super Bowl XLII

2009: 2009 World Series Preview

2010: Friday January 15, 2010

2011: Triumph Over Tragedy

2012: Super Bowl XLVI: Vengeance vs. Vindication

2013: What Have We Become?

2014: Major League Baseball: Missing Household Names

Thanks to my family and friends who inspired me to move forward with the blog. Thanks to all of you who keep reading; I wouldn’t still be doing this without you as well. Thanks to WordPress for giving me a domain to show off my work. Thanks to all of my teachers at ASU who helped me become better. And once more, thank you all.

Click here to check out the Update’s Facebook page. You can also like me on Facebook, follow me on Twitter and keep on reading.

Until then, see you next time sports fans.

Yours Truly,

Sebastian Maldonado

Copyright @ 2007

P.S. I’m not done yet…

2 thoughts on “Today’s Sports Update: The 300th! (Also the 10-Year Anniversary)

  1. Congratulations!! I have been reading + enjoying your blog for 10 years and I love them. Keep doing an awesome job….and needless to say, I am very proud of you!

Leave a Reply

