Triumph Over Tragedy: Revisited

Saturday December 31, 2011

#1) Triumph Over Tragedy: https://sebastiantsu.wordpress.com/2011/09/10/triumph-over-tragedy/

September 11, 2011 marked the tenth anniversary of 9/11/01. This date is and will forever be remembered in infamy. What followed after was baseball making the world feel better for seven games of the World Series. As a sports fan, it was important to relive that World Series. As a New Yorker, I felt obligated to write this piece.

The Arizona Diamondbacks beat the New York Yankees in seven games. Both teams won all of their home games. Four out of the seven games were decided after the eighth inning. Derek Jeter became Mr. November, while Luis Gonzalez beat Mariano Rivera in the ninth. Many moments still live in history. But the importance remains clear. It helped the world heal.

I decided to give a recap of the Series while relating it to world events. Key moments were brought back into my mind. Both teams’ motivation had to be told. The Yankees bringing a title back home meant more than just another number. The hungry veteran Diamondbacks almost became villains by happenstance. Yet, both played their hearts out and gave us arguably the best World Series of the 2000 decade.

I always wanted to write about 9/11 but didn’t have an approach. It was during a train ride when I saw the banner of the Diamondbacks celebrating their tenth anniversary that gave me that approach. I realize that some of my viewers were too young to grasp that day ten years ago. These same viewers also inspired me to take a positive approach while keeping a serious tone.

This was my most successful update post of critical acclaim. I appreciate the comments left and was touched by each of them. I cannot thank you all enough for the views and comments. You are all the reason why I keep writing. I hope that you all stay on the blog and also hope that these “revisited” entries provided insight into my writing. Take care, and Happy New Year!

Yours Truly,

Sebastian Maldonado

Copyrighted @ 2007

Leave a Reply

