A Difficult Decision: Revisited

Friday December 30, 2011

#2) A Difficult Decision: https://sebastiantsu.wordpress.com/2011/02/09/a-difficult-decision%E2%80%A6/

This entry is still a shocker to me. It was requested by readers that I address the Andy Pettitte retirement. When I did it, I did not think it was one of my best posts. I was wrong.

This piece came out two weeks after Pettitte announced his retirement. I took my time to understand why he walked away after a pretty good season. I again took a quick retrospective on his career and pulled no punches. I investigated an athlete’s career/decisions before but not at this scale. I never questioned a player’s retirement before.

Pettitte’s retirement has been discussed long before he actually did. In fact, it became a question for three years because of his injuries during his stint with Houston. When Pettitte finally retired, it seemed a weight was lifted off his shoulders. Yes, he was sad at his press conference but seemed relieved. That’s the approach I took. It wasn’t the injuries or issues that forced him out. He wasn’t even forced at all!

Pettitte is a family man. His family was the factor that always became a question when asked about retirement. Pettitte wanted to stay close to his family, and because of that, his heart wasn’t in it for another season. That was the deciding factor. His love for his family is stronger than his love for baseball. You can’t blame Pettitte for that. If your heart’s not in it anymore, then it’s time to step away.

Yours Truly,

Sebastian Maldonado

Copyrighted @ 2007

Leave a Reply

