SHAQ ATTACKS, No More: Revisited

#3) SHAQ ATTACKS, No More https://sebastiantsu.wordpress.com/2011/06/03/shaq-attacks-no-more%E2%80%A6/

This entry that made the list is a personal favorite of mine. When Shaquille O’Neal announced his retirement from basketball, I knew I had to address it.

We’re talking about an innovator and the last great big man (currently) to grace the NBA. He forced the NBA to reinforce their backboards after taking down two. O’Neal also has a big personality fitting his presence on the court. Since O’Neal had the stats and personality, I took a retrospective on his career.

I knew choosing photos from his career were the easy part. Show the impact made from his time on Orlando, Los Angeles and Miami. Also show his last team, the Celtics. The hard part was summing up a man’s career within one entry. Each statistic is measured by his impact on each team. When he was healthy, O’Neal was a force to be reckoned with. Even when he got older, O’Neal’s presence still dominated the court.

Shaquille O’Neal is easily one of my favorite players to watch on television and in person. I was there as a kid with my father and my sister when O’Neal brought down the backboard in New Jersey. It took a long time to fix that mess. I also saw O’Neal do it again on TV in Phoenix. As a kid, I was swept up in the SHAQ Attack mania. As an adult, I respect the player for not only his athletic ability but also his ability to entertain.

It was and still is my honor to write about Shaquille O’Neal. He should be very entertaining on TNT’s pregame and postgame shows for the NBA.

Yours Truly,

Sebastian Maldonado

Copyrighted @ 2007

Leave a Reply

