I Love You, Dad: Revisited

Tuesday December 27, 2011

#5) I Love You, Dad: https://sebastiantsu.wordpress.com/2011/07/13/i-love-you-dad/

The 2011 State Farm Home Run Derby was supposed to be a coming out party for Red Sox 1B Adrian Gonzalez. Instead, Robinson Cano stole the show and won the competition. However, the story I focused on from that night was the relationship between a father and son. That special bond made public by Jose Cano (father) and Robinson Cano (son).

“Ten more, nine more, eight more… just one, just give me the one, that’s it.”

“Okay. I love you, dad.”

This was the exchange between them, which could be from any father and son for any conversation. But this one took place in front of thousands at Chase Field and millions around the world. The baseball world witnessed what many people feel is the foundation for many who love the sport. That bond between a father and son revolves around a common interest. In this case, baseball is that interest.

You saw the joy in Cano’s face when he was up at the plate. More notable was Jose Cano’s face. He had a happy expression but also stern, almost having that look of “I’ve seen this before.” Surely he did countless times back home. No one could have imagined this at a grand scale.

That bond is what also made me love baseball in the first place. I admit my father didn’t get me interested at first, but our bond grew stronger because of it. It didn’t matter if I played for him or watch the games with him. What mattered is the bond between a father and son in baseball is something I know a lot about. That home run contest reminded me of that bond once more. Click on the link above to discover why this bond is so special.

Be sure to like the blog on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Todays-Sports-Update/136729589760548?sk=wall&filter=1) and follow me on Twitter (https://twitter.com/#!/SebastianTSU). See you next time, sports fans.

Yours Truly,

Sebastian Maldonado

Copyrighted @ 2007

2 thoughts on “I Love You, Dad: Revisited

  1. I remember watching it and thinking wow. Your article helps readers relive a fabulous and touching moment. We didn’t get the ring but the Yankees gave us a great season. Cano is a class act and someone an idol any little league player can look up to well done Cano and well done seb

Leave a Reply

